I received the most amazing care package from my sister today. Just random stuff, so very much my sister (she used to send me similar letters/packages all the time when I was younger), and it brightened my week considerably. It’s amazing how, just when you need contact with other people the most, an unexpected care package from a sister to whom you haven’t spoken in nearly four years shows up. I’m all for unexpected care packages; they’re a beautiful thing. I think I’m going to start sending random care packages to my friends.

Also, I think I’m going to visit my sister (and the rest of my family) in Tucson this fall, if I can save up the money. Sounds great, visiting my sister, taking some photos, hiking around in the mountains. Definitely sounds nice. Plus it’s been nearly ten years since I’ve been to Arizona; it’s about time I visited.

And I’ve been feeling the strange urge to scamper up giant rocks lately (don’t know what that’s all about), which is much easier to accomplish in Arizona than Minnesota. So! Trip to Arizona in the near future!

***

Currently listening to (repeatedly):

Starry Eyed, Cinerama

Break It To Me Gently, Brenda Lee

Two Way Action, Andrew Bird’s Bowl of Fire

I’ve Been Hurt, Bill Deal

Ruth Louise, Soule

Modern Girl, Sleater-Kinney (still…my god, I love this song)

***

My perfect day:

It would start out with a couple hours spent at one of my favorite places in the cities, the Minneapolis Institute of Arts, wandering around, talking, seeing amazing art. Then it would progress to some photo taking in the Sculpture Garden, followed by dinner made at home, probably involving spaghetti or goat cheese. And lots and lots of wine. Then moving on to watching some movies that I love, but even more so love to watch with other people (and wine), such as Trees Lounge or Living In Oblivion. Sounds nice.

***

Speaking of blasts from the past, Marcoda came over to my place yesterday evening and we watched Mystery Science Theater 3000: The Movie. I haven’t seen the show in forever, and I’ve never seen the supposed “movie” version before (which was just an episode billed as a movie, as far as I could tell). But wow, it was great and we laughed merrily and continuously. Good times, that.

***

“My whole life is like a picture of a sunny day…”

Modern Girl, Sleater-Kinney (really, I do love this song)

***

I was again going through some old pictures I took in England. Wow, I’d much rather be there than here. Actually the “wow” wasn’t necessary; the England thing goes without saying.

A picture I took in Canterbury:

Me taking a picture in Canterbury…

jess-in-canterbury

Me at the Tower of London. Which is where I’m not right now. Woo.

tower-of-london-4

