Did you know that today is St. Patrick’s Day? Is this common knowledge? I vaguely recall Marcoda mentioning it yesterday but so much happened between then and this morning that I completely forgot. I mean hey, I made (and overcooked) spaghetti. I thought about, then decided against doing laundry. I brushed Mags. I slept. It was a hectic night! With all of that going on, how on earth was I supposed to remember, while stumbling around drunkenly half asleep this morning trying to get dressed, that today is St. Patrick’s Day? Honestly.

So in my infinite ignorance I put on a green sweater and, as I’m always one to appreciate a nicely coordinated outfit, added green earrings and green shoes. And do you know what happens when you go out in public dressed in green on St. Patrick’s Day? People talk to you. And they smile. And they expect you to smile back. The lady working at the gas station gave me two free shamrock sugar cookies! This level of human interaction at 8:00 a.m. is not acceptable!

*  *  *

Last year on St. Patrick’s Day I was at the Happy Gnome  hanging out in their huge, tented parking lot (The Happy Gnome is in St. Paul, so they, of course, go all out for St. Patrick’s Day, as does every other bar/restaurant in St. Paul) with Dan and a few other friends, drinking whisky, listening to Irish music and having a good time. Interestingly enough, I wasn’t wearing any green.

So much has changed since then. I’m all green’d out and so sadly far from St. Paul. Who do I have to kick to convince people to spend time in St. Paul with me? Who? Because I’ll do it… St. Paul is nice, guys! Really! Ok, yes, it’s a bit loud and crazy on St. Patrick’s Day (But fun! Don’t forget the fun!) but really, it’s lovely. Go forth, head east, experience the St. Paulyness of it all. Please? Pleaseeeee? I’ll buy you a shamrock sugar cookie….

