Blur Building

How have I not heard about this before? Why am I not living here? And why don’t they agree with me when I say vodka fits into their theme just as well as glacial water?

 I am talking about the Blur Building, designed by Diller, Scofidio + Renfro in Yverdon-les-Bains, Switzerland.  (Actually they’ve designed several really cool, inovative buildings. Check out their site!)

The Blur Building is a building in an artificial cloud in the middle of a lake. Who thinks of these things? Really cool people, that’s who! There’s a bar in the middle that serves “glacial waters, municipal waters from world capitals, commercial waters, artesian, mineral and distilled waters from around the globe” (great article here), and everyone who visits the island wears interactive Braincoats (computerized raincoats that turn colors when near other people depending on whether you would get along with that person or not). It’s like a foggy future land!

