Things to keep in mind:

  1. I most certainly don’t write music reviews professionally.
  2. I could care less what you think…except for a select few of you….who actually read and comment on this blog. Damnit. Don’t hate me.
  3. I love music. I hope you love music too.

Bill Mike: Do yourself a favor; if you’re from the twin cities area…scratch that. If you’re from the US…no, if you’re an earthling, see Bill Mike. The whole band, although Bill Mike himself, acoustic, is amazing and totally worth seeing, but I’m talking about Bill Mike the band, is amazing. They play all the time, all over, so this isn’t a tough task for you to fulfill. I’ve seen Bill Mike many times, and every single time I was just blown away by how three guys (albeit talented beyond normal human limits) can make such awesome music. See them. Plus I’ve met Bill Mike himself, more than once and he is the most awesome, down to earth, amazing guy ever. Introduce yourself if you ever see them. Good stuff. Actually, if you ever plan on seeing Bill Mike, let me know. I’ll go with you.

Mel Gibson and the Pants: Oh, the thought makes me giggle. One hardcore hip hop type guy, backed by several nerdy, techy white guys on instruments, making AWESOME hip hop. Wow. I wish I was at a Mel Gibson and the Pants show right now. It’s just awesome. They’re another Twin Cities biggie, so seeing them won’t be tricky. Do it. And bring me with. Awesome hip hop plus hardcore instrumentals equals good. That’s all.

Digitata: Two of Mel Gibson and the Pants’ nerdy awesome instrumentalists, plus a female lead singer/keyboard player that completely makes me wish I was a lesbian. Dude. This is a band to see as a couple as you’re both going to be horny leaving the club. Hell, I’m horny just thinking about it.

The Redwalls: Just saw them live for the first time a couple of days ago and I’m still in awe. They’re playing in Champaign, IL in March, and I’m still trying to figure out how Dan and I can drive out there for the show. I’m in love. Actually I’m listening to them as I type this. Love. Hardcore love. Love. Man. Feck. The amazing music…the amazing…band…ness…dude. I have no words. This is why I don’t review music for a living. When I see a really great, awesome, amazing band I become speechless. Love. That’s all I can say. Now to get Dan and I to Chicago. Love. Feck.

Thunder In The Valley: Keeping with the love-the-band-so-much-I’m-speechless theme… Dude. Don’t think rednecks on motorbikes when you think of Minneapolis’s Thunder In The Valley. Think of badass…um…punk vaudeville. Yeah. Very well done. Amazing instrumentals. Thought provoking lyrics. I will never get tired of seeing them live. And it’s been awhile since I’ve seen them, which makes me sad, because dude.

The Redwalls: What? I already wrote about them? Well, this is what you get when I write about music while listening to the Redwalls. March. Chicago. Who’s with me?

Dessa: You’d never know it from reading this blog, or talking to me, or reading ANYTHING I’ve written, but I actually have a degree in creative writing from a “Prestigious Private University” (and will be paying for it for the REST OF MY FECKING LIFE)…(oh, remind me to post some of my “poetry” some day)…and thus love well-written lyrics. Dessa doubles as a bad-ass beat poet and her stuff stirs the soul. Cool hiphop, mingled with some of her spoken word poetry, it’s good stuff.

The Redwalls: Ok, admission time. I’ve just drank a bottle of wine and am writing this on my laptop to be uploaded to my blog at a later time, seeing as I don’t have internet at the moment at home. So here’s how honest my blog is; I’m writing this and will not edit it at all tomorrow before I upload (sure this seems like artistic integrity, but really it’s laziness). So, I love The Redwalls. And I dearly love my husband. And I dearly love my friends. See? A bottle of wine. I love the Redwalls. Sometime in March, who’s with me? We could roadtrip, and split the hotel bill so it won’t be very expensive. Anyone?

 Flickerstick: And not only because Brandin Lea looks just like a young Severus Snape. Fabulous live. That is all.

